Saturday, May 11, 2024
10:00 a.m. to 5:00 p.m.
Please note that the private homes on this tour are not ADA accessible and we recommend care when walking on walks and lawns and along public roads–we thank the owners for opening their homes to tour goers. Pilgrims assume responsibility for their own safety
when driving, parking and walking on the tour.
Talbot County is steeped in more than 350 years of American history. Named in honor of Lady Grace, wife of Sir Robert Talbot and sister of Cecilius Calvert, second Lord Baltimore, Talbot County was settled by the English about 1661. The Chesapeake Bay and five navigable tributaries—the Choptank, Tred Avon, Miles, Tuckahoe and Wye Rivers—provide more than 600 miles of picturesque waterfront and fertile croplands to Talbot County. The manor houses along the creeks and bays face the waters that brought guests and trade from across the Chesapeake and around the world. Easton, once known as “Talbot Town,” became the county seat by an act of the Maryland Legislature in 1778. Much of the early legal and political history of the United States originated in Talbot County, which is justifiably proud of its history and the loving restoration and preservation of so many of its prominent public buildings, historic homes and gardens, such as those you will see today.
Co-Chairs: Kim Eckert, kaeckertdesign @gmail.com; Zandi Nammack, zandinammack @gmail.com Advisors: Caroline Benson and Eleanor Denegre. Committee Chairs: Advertising: Louise Peterson. Flowers: Mary Helen Cobb. House Selection: Sally Akridge, Caroline Benson, Laura Carney, Christine Dayton, Nancy Thompson. Hospitality: Georgia Adler and Susie Granville. Hostess: Chloe Pitard. Luncheon: Madeleine Cohen. Mapping: Caroline Benson and Nancy Thompson. Parking and Ambassadors: Colleen Doremus and Carolyn Rugg. Patron Letter: Pat Lewers. Photography: Laura Carney and Marsie Hawkinson. Publicity: Pam Keeton and Rita Mhley. Rack Cards: Rebecca Gaffney. Script: Kim Eckert, Zandi Nammack and Sara Robins. Tour Bells: Caroline Benson. Treasurer: Virginia Sappington, TCGC President: Maribeth Lane.
Special Projects: Proceeds from the Talbot County Tour will be used to fund preservation and restoration projects at two churches in Trappe: Scotts United Methodist Church and St. Paul’s Church, White Marsh Parish. The original structure of Scotts United Methodist Church dates back to the 17th century and belonged to the Quakers of the Trappe area. In 1867, they joined the Friends Meeting in Easton and turned the building over to the African American community of Trappe. The church became part of the Methodist Episcopal Church and was named for Bishop Levi Scott. The present structure still has the original windows in the sanctuary. Displayed in the building are items describing the church’s rich history, including information about Nathaniel “Nace” Hopkins, one of the founders and trustee of the church 150 years ago. Nace was a Civil War veteran and leader in Trappe’s Black community and built the town’s first Black school. “Nace’s Day” is observed annually in Trappe to celebrate the emancipation of Maryland’s enslaved people. This year it will be observed on November 2, 2024. Currently, water runoff is threatening to damage the foundation of this historical church. In order to preserve the structure, water mitigation through grading, proper drainage and plantings will be undertaken. The oldest church on the Eastern Shore in which public worship was conducted was White Marsh Church which served Easton, Trappe and Oxford. It was built in the 1670s and remained a place of worship for over 200 years. By 1856, Christ Church in Easton and Holy Trinity in Oxford drew much of the congregation of White Marsh Church away. It then stood alone three miles north of the main population center in Talbot County. Though embracing the ancient parish church, the new church building of White Marsh Parish was erected in Trappe and named St. Paul’s Church in 1858, and it soon became the focus of parish life. White Marsh Church remained the official parish church until a brush fire destroyed the building in 1897. Nothing remains of the original wood frame church, other than the ruins of the 1745 brick addition. St. Paul’s Church, White Marsh Parish and the Old White Marsh Cemetery wall ruin need brick restoration and repair due to deterioration over time and “souvenir theft” of up to 75% of the original White Marsh brick addition. Funds from the Talbot County Tour will help to defray the significant cost of replacing and repointing the brick in both structures.
Luncheon Reservations: Talbot County Garden Club Tour (lunch provided by and proceeds benefitting the historic Scotts United Methodist Church in Trappe, MD). A delicious box lunch will be offered for $17 at the historic Scotts United Methodist Church, at 3748 Main Street in Trappe, MD. Luncheon Options: 1) Savory Chicken Salad with a Roll and a small Veggie Wrap OR 2) Shrimp and Seafood Wrap with Herb Dressing and a side of Veggie Rice Salad. Both box lunches will include a wedge of cheddar cheese and crackers, fruit, a sweet dessert and bottled water, napkin and utensils. If no option is selected, you will receive #1—Chicken Salad. Payment and Reservations: Advance reservations are required and must be received by May 1, 2024; you may submit payment and info via check or PayPal. Please make your check payable to ‘Scotts United MC’ and mail to: SUMC, PO Box 187, Oxford, MD 21654, listing your meal choice AND email address in the Memo section, so that we can send you a confirmation—OR— kindly reserve your lunch now via PayPal: Type in the link below or scan the QR code on your cell phone, entering your email address and listing your meal selection in the Notes section of the payment form. You may pay at the door with cash, but can only do so with advance reservations, by emailing your request to the Luncheon Chair, Talbot County Garden Club member Madeleine Cohen, at firstname.lastname@example.org. We will email all reservation holders a confirmation prior to the event.
#1. Chloras Point Farm
26900 Chloras Point Road, Trappe 21673.
Park in the designated parking lot. From the tip of Chloras Point, water stretches out far and wide. On a good day, it’s possible to see six or seven bodies of water, from the mouth of the Tred Avon River to the Chesapeake Bay. Once part of the Hyer Dyer Lloyd land grant of 1659, Chloras Point Farm not only enjoys broad views but a protected vantage point thanks to a generous lagoon in front of the house and a sandspit off the Choptank River that creates a private harbor. The farm is named after Clora O’Dora who bought the original 600 acres spanning Dividing Creek to Island Creek from the Lloyds in June 1666. Starting with a sturdy but modest homestead built in the very late 1700s, there have been numerous additions and renovations over the years: 1830, 1870, and several in the 20th century. The owners have gradually remodeled to meet 21st century needs without compromising history. After the most recent renovation, many historical
details remain—for example, the dining room, located on the south side, is a part of the original structure. The current interior decor of the main house, guest quarters, and cottage uses a muted palette of grays, beige and white in a variety of textures throughout the home. Salvaged barn siding has been used to dramatic effect on the cathedral ceilings in the family room, screened porch and the pool cabana. The landscaping is designed in favor of large sweeps with minimal variety. The driveway is lined with lovely native willow oaks in homage to the ancient willow oak that had existed on the property. Don’t miss the three Sophora trees underplanted with randomly placed boxwood, designed to mimic tossed marbles. A lovely Nanchez Crepe Myrtle allée creates a focal point in the pool area. Looking west toward the Choptank River, a mown grass allée leads down to a point of cedar trees topped with eagles’ nests. If you are strolling the grounds, see if you can find the concealed fire pit on the way to the point!
#2. Trappe Landing Farm
28534 Granville Lane, Trappe 21673.
The current stewards of Trappe Landing Farm, acquired the 108-acre property in 2018. The estate consisted of a sprawling farmhouse, tillable land, woodlands, the original smoke house, a dock and 700 feet of waterfront at the headwaters of La Trappe creek. Although tax maps from 1794 hint at a structure of similar size on the land, the existing original farmhouse dates to 1850. From this site, in the late 1880s, steamboats might have been seen as they made their way to and from Trappe Landing, which remained a thriving shipping port until 1973. In 2000, a major renovation
included the planting of 120 trees and building a large addition which included a living room, dining room, game room, and porch on the first floor and an office, primary suite and deck on the second floor. The current owners planted 450 trees and seamlessly integrated a three-bay garage, a handsome 5000 sq. foot barn with adjacent vegetable garden, and an adorable guest house. A crushed marble driveway lined with crabapple trees leads to a cobblestone circle in front of the main house, featuring a center sculpture surrounded by box bushes and rosemary. Don’t miss the wrought iron gates, with pheasants atop and cherubs below, which provide
picturesque access to the front lawn. Inside the house, amidst exquisite artwork, there is much to discover with a wide variety of rooms, from cozy and warm to formal and elegant. With stunning waterfront views, impeccably maintained grounds, magnificent perennial beds, and beautifully tailored interiors, this house is an absolute must see.
#3 Ferry Farm House
29793 Bolingbroke Point Drive, Trappe 21673.
Ferry Farm House, one of fifteen homes built before 1731 still remaining in Talbot County, is among the earliest gambrel roof dwellings in the area. The original tobacco barn, believed to be one of only two existing today in Talbot County, adds to its historic significance. The house originally operated as an Inn and Tavern for those waiting for the ferry across the Choptank River to Dorchester County. The ferry rights, granted to landowner Henry Bullen in 1722, were later owned by William Akers until the early 19th century. He and his wife, Ann, were the first to use the building as a residence. Alexander Highley, owner of the house and 160 acres of land in the 1900s, ultimately sold the house and subdivided the land. The original house, three bays long and two bays wide and laid in English bond on a brick cellar, was supported by unsawn white oak logs with their original bark. In the 1940s, the eastern wing was added from what had originally been a small horse barn. The original front door of the house faced the water and the rear door would have looked out on
fertile fields and sheep pastures. The current owners acquired the property in 2012 and have stewarded it well. Be sure to pick up a description of the provenance of many of the furnishings throughout the house. As you make your way through the house, note that the living room was originally two rooms with a wall down the center. Where the fireplace is now, there were two corner fireplaces, one in each room. The wooden base of the kitchen island is from the original house. Don’t miss the 18th century walnut staircase and the original fluted pilasters on the walls of the living and dining rooms, which provide a rare and authentic glimpse into the 18th century.
#4. Lloyds Landing
30975 Lloyds Landing Road, Trappe 21673.
Prepare to be transported back in time! Lloyd’s Landing, one of the most significant examples of early 18th century architecture in Talbot County, was erected between 1720-1730. One of only eight structures from that era still remaining in the county, Lloyds Landing is the oldest and best preserved. Built for James Lloyd, the son of James Lloyd and his wife Anne Grundy of Hope House, this fascinating house has a steep and unusual roof pitch that extends over a brick terrace. The location enabled James Lloyd (the younger), known as “the Mariner,” to keep an eye on his warehouse and wharf on the Choptank River. There have been reports that interesting artifacts from the Choptank tribe have been picked up near the wharf indicating a large Indian encampment. In 1841, the Lloyd Family sold the property to William Hughlett, whose descendants (through the Hardcastle and Henderson lines) own the property today. Architecturally, Lloyd’s Landing is a superior example of the kinds of houses often built by prosperous families of the time. Its unique facade is entirely laid in English bond with the joist ends exposed in the facade eave. Most of the house has been kept to its original use, including the dining room, living room, and upstairs bedrooms. True to the times, there is not much ceiling clearance. Be sure to walk outside to see the view of the Choptank and turn around to gaze up at the roof to get the full extent of its pitch. In the field south of the house, don’t miss the mid-19th century hay barn, supported by a brick pier foundation and sheathed in board and batten siding, with a medium pitched tin roof. The barn has recently been restored as a bunkhouse, while retaining many of the original details.
#5. Canterbury Manor
5985 Canterbury Drive, Easton 21601
Canterbury Manor gleams bright white against a velvety green lawn that forms a teardrop in front of the house. The teardrop is encircled by a graceful driveway that delivers visitors to the front of the elegant two-story Colonial Revival mansion. Built in 1906 by Colonel F. Carroll Goldsborough, the house stands on land originally granted to Samuel Graves in the mid-17th century and subsequently laid out in 1659 for Richard Tilghman, a surgeon in London and later a Maryland planter. Elliot Wheeler, who owned the property from 1915-45, is credited for creating its present appearance. Built in the Colonial Revival Style, the central portion of the house has a pedimented ionic portico with a large lunette in the pediment. There are wings on the east and west, with a double veranda on the west—all designed to take advantage of the cooling breezes in the time before air conditioning. A grand foyer with original glass frames a sweeping view of the water
and creates a dramatic entrance. While formal in design, there is an intimate charm throughout the house. The outside is welcomed in with views of the gardens, lawn, and Trippe’s Creek beyond. Urns planted with colorful flowers add brightness to a background of tall evergreens. Upstairs, the primary bedroom has views of the entire property and another large porch overlooks the formal gardens and pool. On the third floor, a dormitory tucked under the eaves fits a growing brood of grandchildren. Don’t miss the exuberant sculpture of a dog frolicking with five kids. It’s less a piece of art, than a sign. When the owners first toured Canterbury Manor and saw the sculpture, they had just been to an exhibit of the artist’s, which they had enjoyed, and at that time, they had five grandchildren. A sign, indeed. Since that time, their family has grown to include 18 amazing grandchildren, but the house has always made room for them all!
6643 Ellenborough Road, Easton 21601
Located on Peachblossom Creek, with wide western views, Ellenborough, a grand 54 acre estate, is approached by a magnificent, half mile drive lined with Norway Maples planted in the early 19th century by the original owner. At the entrance to the mansion is an enormous ornamental ginkgo on one side and a linden tree on the other. The current house replaced the plantation home built by Matthew Goldsborough around 1860 which was named “Ellenborough,” honoring his wife Eleanor Goldsborough. That house burned down in 1905 and was virtually abandoned until more than two decades later when it was razed to make way for the current structure, whose owners kept the name Ellenborough. Built in 1928, Ellenborough, a fine Colonial Revival example, is a two-and-a-half story central brick mansion with a graceful five-bay facade. A three-bay portico is braced by a trio of fluted ionic columns that support an elegant pediment. A lunette window tops the front door, while inside fine woodwork and an array of seven fireplaces exemplify the beauty of the mansion. The rear of the house is accessed by a typical Georgian entrance with three dormers on the roof evocative of the Federal houses in Easton. A lovely porch offers impressive views of the more than a half mile of waterfront on Peachblossom Creek. The current owners have worked hard to create an elegant interior that embodies its historic past but with modern updates, such as the spacious kitchen and adjacent breakfast /meeting room. Historic details include wide random-planked yellow pine floors laid in a tongue-and-groove pattern and a dramatic, sweeping staircase in the central hallway. Ellenborough is the epitome of understated elegance!
#7. 219 S. Hanson Street
219 S. Hanson Street, Easton 21601.
This is a lovely brick residence that embodies timeless elegance, a rare gem in Easton occupying a spacious double lot. Boasting a brick facade, slate roof, copper gutters, and double hung windows, it was built in 1938 for Dr. William D. Noble, a prominent surgeon and Chief of Staff at Easton Memorial Hospital, and his family. The custodians of this historic home, bought the house in 2021 and have meticulously undertaken a masterful renovation while honoring and preserving the many architectural details that define its character. The wrought iron railing in the front still bears the letter “N,” a subtle nod to Dr. Noble. During the painstaking renovations, the owners found a collection of letters penned by one of the teenage daughters of Dr. William Wood, the second owner. The owners carefully preserved the letters, and they are soon to be reunited with their original author, adding a touching layer of history to this home. Stepping inside, a graceful curving staircase ascends to the second floor, setting the tone for the refined atmosphere that permeates the house. The living room is a testimony to the harmonious blend of the old and the new, where the original fireplace and windows coexist with modern furnishings. An inviting south porch bathed in natural light is a perfect spot to bask in the natural surroundings. The gorgeous rich green library, a sanctuary for reading and relaxation, is a room where the original owner often indulged in needlework to maintain his surgeon’s dexterity! On the other side of the house is the original butler’s pantry, which houses a custom armoire crafted by a local furniture artisan. The adjacent newly renovated kitchen provides a light-filled culinary haven. Don’t miss the original blueprint of the house hanging on the kitchen wall! Another exquisitely handcrafted piece: a stunning dining table crowned by a chrysanthemum-like overhead light fixture can be found in the formal dining room. Heading back through the foyer, step outside to discover the beautifully maintained original Koi pond, surrounded by lush plantings, that create a Zenlike ambiance. Be sure to glance up to see the stunning view of the back facade of the house. Strolling among the landscaped shrubs and specimen trees, you’ll uncover the remnants of a brick grill, evoking al fresco gatherings from years past.