Saturday, May 16, 2020
10:00 A.M to 5:00 P.M.
Calvert County was part of Charles County in 1650 when Robert Brooke arrived as a representative of Lord Baltimore to form a new county in the colony. The name Calvert was given to the new county in 1654. Under the Cornwellian rule it was changed to Patuxent County, but by 1658 the name of Calvert was restored. By 1695, after the Protestant Revolution, Calvert County was partitioned and lost a large portion of its land on the north to Prince George’s County. Calvert now forms a peninsula about forty miles long and ten miles wide, with the Chesapeake Bay on the east and the Patuxent River on the west. Calvert’s waterways provided the principal travel routes in early days. These rivers and streams are still picturesque and have attracted many to live along their shores. Fossil formations at Calvert Cliffs provide a glimpse of early marine life in the Bay. Recent findings in other areas have provided significant archaeological information about early Native American civilizations. The main occupation of the first settlers, who came from England, Wales and Scotland, was farming. Tobacco was the major crop. However, by 1980 only about one-third of Calvert County was still being farmed and soybeans and corn had replaced tobacco as the principal crop. Today’s tour will take you to Solomons Island, located at the southern tip of Calvert County. Originally called Bourne’s Island (1680), then Somervell’s Island (1740), Solomons takes its name from 19th century Baltimore businessman Isaac Solomon, who established a cannery there shortly after the Civil War. Solomon’s home still stands on the front of the island. The area has been inhabited since colonial times. In the 19th century, shipyards were developed to support the island’s fishing fleet. The Marsh Shipyardbuilt schooners and sloops became famous for its bugeyes, the forerunner of the skipjack. In the War of 1812, Commodore Joshua Barney’s flotilla sailed from here to attack British vessels on the Chesapeake Bay. The deep, protected harbor has been a busy marine center ever since. Today the Island welcomes tourists with numerous marinas, seafood restaurants, gift shops, a boardwalk, and a sculpture garden. The Calvert Marine Museum is where visitors can climb atop a former lighthouse, board harbor cruises, and hear occasional outdoor concerts by famous performers.
This tour is being held in memory of Joan and Elliot Kocen.
Chairs: Carol Frederick, 530 Small Reward Road, Huntingtown, MD 20639, 443-340-2498; Maricarol Cloak, 710 Patuxent Reach Drive, Prince Frederick, MD 20678, 410-535-2403; Adele Maguire, 7955 Broomes Island Road, Broomes Island, MD 20615, 443-684-4025.
Committee Chairs: Ads: Jody Longhill, Maricarol Cloak, and Carol Frederick. Flowers: Mary Smolinski, Rosemary Dawley, and Shahla Butler. Hostesses: Andrea Jordon, and Sandy Caruso. Photography: Terri Waller. Publicity: Jane Eyler, and Margaret Fahs. Road Marking: Maricarol Cloak, Adele Maguire and Carol Frederick. Tickets and Gift Certificates: Joyce Murphy. Tour Book: Adele Maguire. Treasurer: Helen Prince, and Marcia Olson
Special Project: Tour proceeds will go towards refurbishing the interior of the Drum Point Lighthouse situated on the grounds of the Calvert Marine Museum in Solomons, MD. Specifically, plans are to repair the lighthouse fog bell striking mechanism, reinstall audio equipment so that visitors can hear a recording of the bell when it tolls, restore the lantern room, refurbish the spiral staircase, add battery-operated period lighting, paint the interior, and replace all of the interior fabrics (curtains, bed coverings, rugs). The museum’s Curator of Maritime History will be in charge of this project.
Lunch: There are several nice restaurants along the route, many with outside seating overlooking the water. Most serve local crab cakes and other seafood items, as well as burgers, gourmet sandwiches, salads and desserts.
Note: There is no parking available at Sites 2 through 10. Tour tickets may be purchased at Sites 1, 3, 7 and 10. This is a walking tour. Please wear comfortable walking shoes. Public Restrooms are available at the Calvert Marine Museum and along the walk between sights. See map for locations (R).
Baltimore: I-695 Beltway to 97 South to Rts. 3/301 South to Rt. 4 East/South for 27.8 miles to Solomons, MD to exit on the right onto Thomas Johnson Road (Rt. 2) passing under the Thomas Johnson Bridge. Make a left at the stop sign, drive approximately 200 yards and the Calvert Marine Museum will be right in front of you. Turn right onto Solomons Island Road, South. Parking is in the field on the right, across from the museum. Exit the parking area to walk across the street to the museum. Tickets will be at the gate. Follow the path around the museum to Site #1, the Drum Point Lighthouse.
Washington DC: I-495 Beltway to Rt. 4 (Pennsylvania Ave.) South/East for 56 miles to Solomons, MD. Continue as above.
Annapolis: South on Rt. 2 towards Prince Frederick. Join Rt. 4 in Sunderland. Continue South on Rts. 2/4 for 27.2 miles to Solomons, MD. Continue as above.
St. Mary’s County: Cross the Thomas Johnson Bridge. Take the exit onto Thomas Johnson Road (Rt. 2) at the north end of the bridge. Turn right at the stop sign, and in approximately 500 feet, the Calvert Marine Museum will be on your left. Parking is in the field on the right, across from the museum. Continue as above.
Charles County: Rt. 231 across the Patuxent River to Rts. 2/4. Turn right. Continue 18.3 miles to Solomons, MD. Continue as above.
FOLLOW PILGRIMAGE GREEN ARROWS AND SIGNS.